Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Register
The Wheel of Commendation

Options, Not Requirements

As with the sunsetting commendation criteria 16-22, compliance with the menu of new commendation criteria is optional for CME providers and is not required to achieve Accreditation. Providers will continue to achieve and retain Accreditation by demonstrating compliance with the Accreditation Criteria 1-13.

Timeline: The Menu of New Commendation Criteria (C23-C38).  Providers that will receive accreditation decisions after November 2019 must use Option B to seek Accreditation with Commendation.

New Commendation Criteria

There are 16 commendation criteria, divided into 5 categories. The visual of this menu is the Wheel of Commendation.

  1. Promotes Team-based Education
  2. Addresses Public Health Priorities
  3. Enhances Skills
  4. Demonstrates Educational Leadership
  5. Achieves Outcomes

The Menu Approach: 7+1

The menu approach creates flexibility, reflects the diversity of the CME community, and offers a pathway for all CME provider types to achieve Accreditation with Commendation.

To be eligible for Accreditation with Commendation using this new menu, CME providers will need to demonstrate compliance with any seven criteria of their choice, from any category—plus one criterion from the Achieves Outcomes category—for a total of eight criteria.

Education and Resources