Print Page | Report Abuse | Sign In | Register
2020 Awards Recipients

2020 Arizona Medical Association Healthcare Awards Recipients

The Arizona Medical Association (ArMA) is proud to announce the recipients of its 2020 Healthcare Awards. ArMA recognizes these worthy individuals and organizations for their contributions to the success of healthcare in Arizona. Please join us as we congratulate the 2020 Healthcare Award recipients! Click each picture to learn why each individual and organization below was selected for the award.

ArMA Distinguished Service Award – Banner University Whole Health Clinic

The ArMA Distinguished Service Award recognizes those individuals and organizations that have gone above and beyond in their profession, making a significant impact on the community.

The Banner-University Whole Health Clinic (WHC) in Tucson, Arizona provides integrated primary care and community mental health services to individuals in Southern Arizona. The clinic's primary target are underserved populations and people with severe mental illness (SMI), but it welcomes all patients with mental health or substance use concerns who are willing to participate in their programs.

David O. Landrith Humanitarian Award – Vicki Copeland, M.D.

The Humanitarian Award recognizes programs and individuals who go above and beyond their given profession to help underserved communities receive medical care and other healthcare services that lead to the betterment of their lives.

Dr. Copeland is an Arizona native who completed residency training in Family Medicine at Good Samaritan Regional Medical Center. She owned her own practice for many years prior to becoming the medical director for the Maricopa County Department of Public Health campus, “Healthcare for the Homeless” clinic, where she led teams to provide high quality primary care for people experiencing homelessness at the shelter on campus, as well as surrounding communities and shelters.

ArMA Health and Fitness Award – Brynn Sorensen (left) and Lindsey Buckner (right) of Redfield Elementary School – Girls on the Run Program


The ArMA Health & Fitness Award recognizes a group or individual that demonstrates extraordinary commitment to the health and fitness of Arizona residents.

ArMA/ADHS Public Health Service Award – Aram Mardian, M.D. (left) and Lisa Villarroel, M.D., M.P.H. (right)


Each year, ArMA and the Arizona Department of Health Services recognize an individual, group of individuals, or educational organization whose contributions to public health have been significant.

Award In Memory of Edward Sattenspiel, MD – Charles Daschbach, M.D.

This award is given in memory of Edward Sattenspiel, MD, a former ArMA president and champion for healthcare in Arizona, in recognition of an individual’s long-term commitment to organized medicine.

Dr. Daschbach was the director of medical education and chief of academic affairs at St. Joseph's Hospital for over 30 years, growing the academic activities of that institution dramatically until his recent retirement. Over last 17 years, he served as chair of the ArMA’s CME accreditation committee, where he dramatically influenced change by creating a collaborative and dynamic oversight committee that includes representatives of all stakeholders. This has led to consistent equivalency throughout the state with Accreditation Council of Continuing Medical Education (ACCME) standards.

ArMA Walk the Talk Award – Pete Wertheim

The “Walk the Talk” Award recognizes individuals or organizations that go above and beyond in their support of issues impacting medicine and patients.

Pete Wertheim spent his entire career advocating for Arizonans, primarily in the field of healthcare. He worked for the AZ state legislature, the Arizona Department of Health Service, the Arizona Hospital Association, and for the past six years as executive director of Arizona Osteopathic Medical Association (AOMA). In these roles, he displayed unwavering leadership and strategic direction, and it is this dedication that has earned him ArMA’s 2020 Walk the Talk Award.

Wallace A. Reed, MD Award – Priya Radhakrishnan, M.D., F.A.C.P.

The Wallace A. Reed, MD Award recognizes innovation in health care of an individual or organization in Arizona.

Dr. Priya Radhakrishnan has dedicated her career to medical education and is an award-winning educator whose philosophy centers on integrating the needs of the learner, patient and community, with those of the health care system. She works in every domain of medical education, to include bedside clinical teaching, curriculum development, undergraduate and graduate medical education, continuing and professional medical education, quality improvement, and advocacy. She has mentored countless students, residents and faculty who have subsequently won awards, granted prestigious fellowships, and promoted to academic positions. Her creative approach to interprofessional health professions education, innovative curricular formats, and commitment to breaking down traditional siloes in medical education have led to systems- and program-level awards, grant funding, and publications.

CH William Ruhe Award (co-winners) – Flagstaff Medical Center and Tucson Hospitals Medical Education Program


The C.H. William Ruhe Award recognizes excellence in accredited continuing medical education (CME) programs in Arizona.

ArMA, in its role as accreditor of intrastate providers, is honored to have this opportunity to recognize each of Flagstaff Medical Center (FMC) and Tucson Hospitals Medical Education Program (THMEP) and acknowledge excellence in the meritorious achievement, standards of excellence, and community impact through CME by each of Tucson Hospitals Medical Education Program and Flagstaff Medical Center

ArMA Presidential Award – Libby McDannell (left) and Ross Goldberg, M.D. (right)


It is an ArMA tradition for the outgoing president to recognize an individual or individuals who provided significant support during their year as president with the ArMA Presidential Award.